Twitter Guilt and the Art of the Unfollow

heathers4

I follow 966 people on Twitter and 395 on Instagram. That’s way too many to keep up with every joke, brunch photo, and link to the Hollywood Reporter announcing your book deal and TV show. There are some people I’ve been following for years: Kelly Oxford, Shelby Fero, Michael Ian Black, etc. I find them funny and interesting all the time, so I have no problem reading their arbitrary thoughts. I follow new people all the time: comedians, writers, basketball players, and guys I want to have babies with. Sometimes the follow was a great idea and other times I regret it immediately.

Everyone who uses Twitter daily knows the guilt that comes with unfollowing someone. I’ve gone to profile pages of people who were once following me to see that they were no longer. I’ll usually mumble a “fuck you” and then completely forget about it 10 seconds later.

HOW DARE THEY THINK I’M UNFUNNY OR BORING! (Read the rest on Style Con)

 

Comments:

