Conor Oberst’s Rape Accuser Said “It Was A Goof!”

Just kidding, but how hilarious would it be if she actually said that?

“Hey Melissa, who the fuck is Conor Oberst?” said no one.

Emo as FUCK

Emo as FUCK

He’s the singer from Bright Eyes who was accused of raping a 16 year old girl.  Joanie Faircloth, now 27, left a series of comments on an xoJane article claiming Conor Oberst raped her after a Bright Eyes concert 10 years ago on her 16th birthday. She said she met him because her middle school teacher was Conor’s brother:

 “I was raped by a “rock star” when I was 16 years old and he was in his 20s. My husband suggests I may feel some empowerment by outing my rapist. It was Conor Oberst of Bright Eyes (and several other bands/side projects he fronts, bright eyes being the most popular).”

“Conor definitely took advantage of my teenage crush on him. At first, I was flattered when he was playing with my hair and had his hand on my leg. It was like my dream come true at that point. But then he clearly wanted to go further and I made it very clear and told him I was a virgin and wasn’t prepared to change that right then but he didn’t stop. It was a really fucked up way to realize that people you idolize and look up to so much can be shitty, terrible people. Conor took a lot from me including my virginity, my dignity and self esteem.”

I know the first place I go to report a rape is the comments section of xoJane. Who does that? This woman is an unstable attention whore.

Well, like every shit storm that xoJane has brewed up, this story went viral and Conor was instantly labeled a rapist. Way to go, Internet! Keep ruining people’s lives based off of one comment from some sad and lonely self-important idiot! No research was done on this woman to check her background or history. Apparently she’s been lying about shit for years. She said she had twins, and then said it was her sister who had twins, but then her ex-husband posted photos on Facebook of babies, and talking about deadbeat mothers. Who knows what’s happening in that disaster of a human’s life. But she’s not credible. She also talked about how much she loved Bright Eyes, after the alleged rape happened.

Faircloth also posed as a boy and superfan of Bright Eyes named “Zac,” and catfished a bunch of people. Then, mysteriously, “Zac” committed suicide in 2002. She’s nuts, guys. She posted on Facebook in 2011 that Bright Eyes was her favorite band. She then deleted it in January of this year, shortly after she made the rape accusations.

Everyone believes anything they read on the Internet, so Conor Oberst was instantly labeled a rapist. He lost a record deal and his label dropped him. Someone even wrote an articled titled, “Why I Believe Conor Oberst’s Anonymous Rape Victim.” The author’s reasoning is because she had a hot 24-year-old physical therapist when she was 16, who said “inappropriate things” to her, and she had a huge crush on him, so he could’ve easily taken advantage of her.

Oh, okay, so that means every 16-year-old girl who has a crush on an older guy should be careful because they’re all rapists (and pedophiles). Give me a break.

Oberst filed a lawsuit against Faircloth for libel, also stating that, “Her statements are not only malicious lies, but they are an insult to the millions of actual rape victims around the world. Faircloth should be ashamed of herself.”

Guess what?!? Faircloth released a statement saying her allegations were “100% false.” Big fucking surprise.

“The statements I made and repeated online and elsewhere over the past six months accusing Conor Oberst of raping me are 100 percent false. I made up those lies about him to get attention while I was going through a difficult period in my life and trying to cope with my son’s illness. I publicly retract my statements about Conor Oberst, and sincerely apologize to him, his family, and his fans for writing such awful things about him. I realize that my actions were wrong and could undermine the claims of actual sexual assault victims and for that I also apologize. I’m truly sorry for all the pain that I caused.”

Joanie Faircloth hurt the reputation of an innocent man, and added to the stigma of women falsely accusing rape for attention. She is a garbage human. Her selfishness takes away from real rape victims.

I highly doubt xoJane will address this, or their comments section being known for stirring up drama, and just continue with stories about being “cake-shamed” and selling underwear on craigslist.

 

 

2 thoughts on “Conor Oberst’s Rape Accuser Said “It Was A Goof!”

  1. Just a quote off twitter that perhaps the people crowing “False Accusation” ought to think about.

    “We ARE clear that a woman facing a $1.2 million lawsuit from a famous man might recant for reasons other than “she was lying,” right?”

  2. That is a very, very bad bit of business and I think the penalties for doing so should be severe.

    If you can do time for lying about your taxes you should face the same for intentionally trying to destroy someone’s life like this.

Comments:

